Canadian therapists evaluating an AI scribe have two questions American buyers don't: which privacy law governs their notes, and where the vendor keeps them. A tool that is fine for a Toronto psychotherapist under PHIPA may need extra paperwork for a Calgary psychologist or a Montréal clinic.
This guide compares eight AI scribes for registered psychotherapists, registered clinical counsellors, Canadian Certified Counsellors, psychologists and clinical social workers in private and group practice. Each is assessed on the same five things: Canadian privacy commitments, where data is hosted, therapy note formats, price, and how it fits the practice‑management system you already use.
How we compared them
- Canadian privacy commitments. What the vendor publicly states about PIPEDA, Ontario's PHIPA, and the provincial rules in Alberta and Quebec — and whether it says "compliant", "aligned" or only "supports".
- Where data is hosted. Whether the vendor states Canadian hosting, US hosting, or doesn't say.
- Therapy fit. Note formats therapists use (SOAP, DAP, BIRP, progress and intake notes), couples and family sessions, and telehealth.
- Price. Public pricing, currency, and whether notes are capped.
- EHR fit. Whether it works with Canadian practice-management systems such as Jane App and Owl Practice.
At a glance
Tool | Best for | Data hosted | Canadian privacy claims | Price (public) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
Twofold | Most therapists in private or group practice | United States | PIPEDA, PHIPA; Alberta and Quebec agreements | US$69/mo or US$49/mo annually, unlimited notes |
Jane AI Scribe | Practices already on Jane | Canadian data centre option | PIPEDA | $15/mo per practitioner on top of a Jane plan (CAD) |
Owl Practice Smart Notes | Practices already on Owl | Not explicitly stated | PIPEDA | Add-on to Owl plans from $60/mo (CAD) |
Klarify | Canadian hosting with therapy formats | Montréal | PIPEDA, PHIPA, Quebec Law 25 | Free tier; paid plans from $16/mo |
Heidi Health | Canadian hosting, general-purpose scribe | Quebec | PIPEDA and provincial legislation | Free tier; Clinician CA$100–130/mo |
Mentalyc | Broad formats with a Jane autofill | Not stated (AWS) | PIPEDA, PHIPA | US$19.99–119.99/mo, capped notes |
Upheal | Low or part-time caseloads | Not stated (AWS) | PIPEDA, PHIPA | C$1 per session |
Blueprint | Wide therapy formats incl. EMDR | United States | PHIPA | US$0.99/session or US$69/seat |
Checked on each vendor's own website, 27 September 2026.

1. Twofold — best AI scribe for most Canadian therapists
Best for: psychotherapists, counsellors, psychologists and social workers in solo or group practice who want therapy‑native notes without changing their EHR.
Twofold is an AI scribe built for mental health first. It drafts SOAP, DAP, BIRP, progress and intake notes from a session, and has dedicated templates for couples therapy, family therapy and DBT. Its template builder lets you write the instruction for each section, so the note follows your college's documentation expectations and your own voice. Notes can be generated in English or French.
What makes it the best fit for most Canadian practices:
- Unlimited notes at a flat price. US$69 a month, or US$49 a month billed annually, with a seven-day free trial and no card required. There are no note caps or per-session fees.
- Works with the EHR you already use. The finished note copies into Jane, Owl Practice or any other system, so there's nothing to migrate.
- Published Canadian privacy commitments. Twofold states that it uses health information only as necessary to provide the documentation service, does not disclose it, and meets the PHIPA restrictions on vendors that supply electronic services to Ontario custodians. Under PIPEDA it has a designated individual accountable for privacy and reports breaches that pose a real risk of significant harm to the Privacy Commissioner of Canada. See how Twofold handles PIPEDA and PHIPA.
- Provincial paperwork covered. Twofold signs an information manager agreement for Alberta custodians and a written mandate for Quebec clinics, and supplies the documentation a clinic needs for its own privacy impact assessment.
- Group practices get central billing and seats, templates shared across the team, and notes that stay private to each clinician.
Trade-off: Twofold is hosted in the United States, on Microsoft Azure and Google Cloud. That is permitted under Canadian law for private practices, but if your clinic's own policy requires Canadian storage, look at Klarify or Heidi below. Pricing is in US dollars.
2. Jane AI Scribe — best if you run your practice on Jane
Best for: therapists whose scheduling, charting and billing already live in Jane.
Jane is a Canadian practice‑management platform, and its AI Scribe is built in: notes start from a SOAP note, a pre‑made template or your own format, and it works with Jane's one‑to‑one telehealth. Jane describes the platform as compliant with PIPEDA and offers regional data centres, including one in Canada. AI Scribe includes five free notes a month, then costs $15 per month per practitioner on top of a Jane plan (from CAD $54 a month).
Trade-off: it only works inside Jane, and Jane doesn't say publicly where AI processing takes place.
3. Owl Practice Smart Notes — best if you're on Owl Practice
Best for: Canadian therapists already using Owl Practice as their EHR.
Owl Practice, a Canadian therapy EHR, offers Smart Notes as an add‑on. It produces SOAP, DAP and session‑summary notes from in‑person or video sessions, processes them inside Owl's own environment, which Owl describes as PIPEDA‑compliant, and deletes transcripts after seven days. Owl plans start at CAD $60 a month.
Trade-off: three note formats, and it isn't available outside Owl. Owl implies Canadian hosting but doesn't state it outright.
4. Klarify — best for Canadian-hosted, therapy-specific notes
Best for: therapists who want Canadian data hosting and a wide range of therapy formats.
Klarify is a Canadian AI note tool for therapists. It states compliance with PIPEDA, PHIPA, Quebec's Law 25 and other provincial health privacy laws, and hosts data in a Canadian data centre in Montréal. Formats include SOAP, DAP, BIRP, GIRP, PIE, EMDR, CBT, ACT, IFS and EFT, plus family and couple notes. It has a free tier and paid plans from $16 a month.
Trade-off: a smaller vendor, with no named EHR integrations.
5. Heidi Health — best Canadian-hosted general-purpose scribe
Best for: multidisciplinary clinics that want one scribe across medicine and mental health, hosted in Canada.
Heidi states that it complies with PIPEDA and relevant provincial privacy legislation, and that Canadian users' data is hosted on infrastructure in Quebec. It markets to psychologists, counsellors, psychotherapists and social workers, and has a free tier; the Clinician plan is CA$130 a month, or CA$100 a month billed yearly.
Trade-off: built for all of medicine rather than therapy first, and no integration with Jane or Owl Practice.
6. Mentalyc — best for broad formats with a Jane autofill
Best for: therapists who want many therapy formats and use Jane.
Mentalyc supports SOAP, DAP, BIRP, GIRP, PIRP, PIE and intake notes across individual, couples, family and group sessions, and its browser extension fills notes into Jane App as well as US EHRs. It states compliance with PIPEDA, PHIPA and other provincial laws.
Trade-off: pricing is in US dollars and each plan caps notes per month (from US$19.99). Mentalyc doesn't state where its AWS hosting is located.
7. Upheal — best for low or part-time caseloads
Best for: part‑time therapists who want to pay per session in Canadian dollars.
Upheal's Canadian site prices at C$1 per session and states that a third‑party auditor confirmed it meets PHIPA and PIPEDA requirements. It supports SOAP, DAP, BIRP, GIRP and PIRP, individual and couples notes, and built‑in video.
Trade-off: per‑session pricing grows with your caseload, it has no Jane or Owl integration, and it doesn't state Canadian hosting.
8. Blueprint — best for the widest range of therapy formats
Best for: therapists who want structured formats such as EMDR and couples notes and don't need Canadian hosting.
Blueprint offers SOAP, BIRP, DAP, GIRP, SIRP, PIE, PIRP, EMDR, couples and intake formats, and states PHIPA compliance. It charges US$0.99 per session, or US$69 per seat for unlimited use alongside your EHR.
Trade-off: Blueprint states that it runs on US‑based infrastructure, and pricing is in US dollars only.
Also considered
- Scribeberry lists the broadest provincial compliance of any vendor we checked — PIPEDA, Alberta, Ontario, BC and Quebec — and keeps Canadian users' data in Canada, but it is built for physicians and its therapy formats are limited.
- Tali AI is Canadian and Canadian-hosted, but it is designed for family medicine and physician EMRs rather than therapy practices.
- AutoNotes states US data residency and describes its Canadian position as "aligned with" PIPEDA and PHIPA principles.
Does an AI scribe have to store data in Canada?
No. Neither PIPEDA nor Ontario's PHIPA requires a private practice's health information to be stored in Canada. The Office of the Privacy Commissioner of Canada treats sending information to a service provider in another country as a use, not a prohibited transfer, as long as the organization protects it and is transparent that it may be processed abroad.
Two provinces add conditions rather than a ban:
- Alberta: custodians under the Health Information Act need a written information manager agreement, and a written agreement before health information is stored outside Alberta.
- Quebec: a privacy impact assessment and a written mandate are required before health information is communicated outside Quebec.
So the practical question isn't "is it Canadian‑hosted?" but "will the vendor sign the agreements my province requires, and help me complete the assessment?" If your clinic's own policy requires Canadian storage, choose a Canadian‑hosted tool.
How to choose

- On Jane or Owl, and happy with SOAP-style notes? Start with your EHR's built-in scribe.
- Need Canadian hosting? Klarify or Heidi.
- Want the most therapy formats, unlimited notes at a flat price, and freedom to keep or change your EHR? Twofold.
- Whichever you pick, get the patient's consent to record, as your college's standards require, and check which provincial rules apply before your first session.

