Free for a week, then $19 for your first month
Comparison

Best AI Note Taker for Therapy Sessions (2026): Twofold vs Upheal vs Blueprint

All three sign a BAA on every account, so compliance is a floor rather than a differentiator. Compared on HIPAA, session audio, AI training and real cost at your caseload — and why Twofold wins for most therapists.

Best AI note taker for therapy sessions 2026: Twofold vs Upheal vs Blueprint hero image

Quick answer: Twofold Health is the best AI note taker for therapy sessions for most therapists in 2026. All three tools compared here — Twofold, Upheal and Blueprint — sign a BAA on every account and none retains session audio in normal operation, so HIPAA compliance does not separate them. Twofold wins on the criteria that do: a flat $49 a month for unlimited notes with CPT/ICD coding included, session audio never written to disk, PHI excluded from model training with no opt‑in offered, and it works alongside the EHR you already have. Choose Upheal instead if you work part‑time or need a permanently free plan; choose Blueprint if you want to replace your EHR or need an issued SOC 2 Type II report today.

Therapists shopping for an AI scribe in 2026 tend to start with compliance and end with cost. The good news is that the compliance question has largely been settled: the serious vendors in behavioral health all sign a BAA on every account and none of them trains models on your sessions without permission. That makes compliance a floor rather than a differentiator, and pushes the real decision onto pricing structure, data‑handling defaults and how well the tool fits psychotherapy specifically. This guide compares the three most commonly shortlisted options against Twofold, Upheal and Blueprint's own published material as of September 2026.

What makes an AI note taker safe for therapy sessions?

Five criteria matter more than feature lists, and they are the ones this comparison is built on:

  • A signed BAA on the plan you are actually on — not just on an enterprise tier you will never buy.
  • What happens to session audio, and whether deletion is architectural or a setting somebody could change.
  • Whether PHI can ever reach model training, and whether that is a hard no or a consent checkbox.
  • What it costs at your real caseload, not at the entry tier.
  • Whether the note formats and clinical workflow are built for psychotherapy or adapted to it.

Do Twofold, Upheal and Blueprint all sign a BAA?

Yes, all three, on every account. Twofold includes a signed BAA on every plan including the trial. Upheal enters into a BAA with each therapist who uses the platform, accepted at signup and covering free accounts, with organisation‑wide coverage for practice administrators. Blueprint includes its BAA in its Terms of Service, effective when you first accept them, and publishes a signable version if you need a countersigned copy for a compliance file.

This is worth stating plainly because a lot of comparison content implies otherwise: on BAA availability these three are at parity, and any of them can be used compliantly with PHI. If a vendor comparison tells you one of these three will not cover you, check it against their published agreement.

Which one is SOC 2 certified?

Here the three separate, and not in Twofold's favour. Blueprint states it is SOC 2 Type II certified with annual independent audits. Upheal states it holds SOC 2 certification and maintains a public trust center, though its compliance page does not specify whether the report is Type I or Type II — worth requesting directly, since Type I attests design at a point in time while Type II tests operation over a period. Twofold is still undergoing SOC 2 Type II certification, with controls aligned to the HITRUST CSF in the interim.

If your practice, payer or health system requires an issued Type II report as a condition of purchase, Blueprint clears that bar today and Twofold does not. That is a real disqualifier in some procurement processes and it belongs at the top of this comparison rather than buried in a footnote.

What does each one do with session recordings?

None of the three retains recordings in normal operation, but the defaults differ in a way that matters if your practice policy is written strictly.

Tool

Session audio handling

Twofold

Never written to disk. Audio is processed in real time to produce the note, then gone. There is no setting that changes this.

Blueprint

Deleted immediately after processing, with no recordings, copies or backups retained.

Upheal

Deleted by default, but you can choose to save recordings — so retention becomes a per-clinician setting the practice has to govern.

Twofold and Blueprint are effectively equivalent in outcome; the difference is that Twofold removes the possibility rather than defaulting it safely. Upheal's option to retain is a genuine feature for supervision and training workflows that need saved audio — but it means an administrator has something to audit.

Does any of them train AI on your therapy sessions?

Twofold and Blueprint both state that client data is never used to train AI models. Upheal permits it only with explicit opt‑in consent, which you can revoke at any time. Blueprint's BAA reserves the right to use de‑identified information internally for analytics and product development, provided it cannot reasonably identify an individual and is not sold or used for advertising.

Twofold is the strictest of the three on this question, because it does not offer the opt‑in at all — there is no consent flow for a group practice to govern across its clinicians. Upheal's approach is defensible and consent‑based; it is simply one more thing to manage.

How much does each cost at your caseload?

This is where the decision is usually made, because the three use fundamentally different pricing models. Twofold is flat: $49 a month billed annually, or $69 monthly, for unlimited notes. Upheal bills $1 per session with a $69 monthly cap. Blueprint bills $0.99 per session alongside your existing EHR, or $1.49 on its all‑in‑one EHR tier, with no cap at all.

Sessions per month

Twofold

Upheal

Blueprint ($0.99)

Blueprint all-in-one ($1.49)

20 (part-time)

$49

$20

$19.80

$29.80

35 (building practice)

$49

$35

$34.65

$52.15

50 (crossover)

$49

$50

$49.50

$74.50

70 (near-full)

$49

$69 (capped)

$69.30

$104.30

100 (full-time)

$49

$69 (capped)

$99

$149

120 (high volume)

$49

$69 (capped)

$118.80

$178.80

Annual cost at 100/mo

$588

$828

$1,188

$1,788

Two structural points behind the numbers. Upheal's cap means its worst case is bounded at $828 a year, so the gap against Twofold never exceeds about $240. Blueprint has no cap, so its cost keeps climbing with your caseload — at 100 sessions a month it runs roughly double Twofold, and on the all‑in‑one tier roughly triple.

Both Upheal and Blueprint also charge transaction fees outside those prices if you use their payments and billing features: card processing at 2.9% plus $0.30 for Upheal and 3.15% plus $0.30 for Blueprint, and $0.30 per claim with $0.15 per eligibility check for both. Blueprint's pricing page listed those as waived until September 2026, so that waiver is lapsing now — confirm the current position before budgeting. These are billing charges rather than documentation charges, and Twofold does not run claims at all, so it has no equivalent.

Best AI note taker for therapy sessions: the ranking

1. Twofold Health — best overall for therapy sessions

Twofold is the best choice for the majority of therapists: anyone with a steady caseload who already has an EHR they do not want to leave. Unlimited notes and CPT/ICD coding are included at $49 a month billed annually, so the invoice does not move whether you hold 60 sessions or 160. Session audio is never written to disk, PHI is excluded from model training with no opt‑in offered, encryption is published specifically as TLS 1.3 and AES‑256, data residency is US‑only across named providers each under a BAA, and no staff can access transcripts, notes or patient names. It is mental‑health‑first while also covering psychiatry, primary care, pediatrics and physical therapy under one contract.

Where it is weakest: there is no permanently free plan, only a 7‑day full trial, and the SOC 2 Type II certification is still in progress.

2. Upheal — best free plan and best for part-time caseloads

Upheal is the right answer below roughly 49 sessions a month, and the only one of the three with a genuinely permanent free plan — unlimited feature‑limited notes plus HIPAA‑compliant telehealth, with no credit card. Its 30‑day full trial is the most generous evaluation period here, its BAA attaches at signup and covers free accounts, and it bundles telehealth and insurance billing. Treatment planning and behavioral‑health workflow are built in rather than adapted.

Where it is weakest: the option to save recordings makes retention a setting rather than a guarantee, AI training is available on opt‑in consent, and the $69 cap means a full caseload pays more than Twofold for the same unlimited documentation.

3. Blueprint — best if you want to replace your EHR

Blueprint is now an AI‑assisted EHR: the EHR itself is free, and you pay per session for the AI on top. If you are currently paying separately for an EHR, that consolidation can outweigh the per‑session cost, and it is the only one of the three that gives you scheduling, telehealth, intake, client portal and claims at no platform fee. It holds an issued SOC 2 Type II certification with annual audits, deletes audio immediately with no backups, does not train on client data, and supports PHIPA for Canadian clinicians — the only one of the three that does.

Where it is weakest: per‑session pricing with no ceiling makes documentation a variable cost that grows with every client you see, and the economics assume you are willing to migrate your practice onto its EHR.

Twofold vs Upheal vs Blueprint: full comparison

Criterion

Twofold

Upheal

Blueprint

Signed BAA

Every plan, including trial

Every account, incl. free, at signup

In Terms of Service; countersignable copy

SOC 2

Type II in progress; HITRUST-aligned

Certified; type not specified publicly

Type II certified, annual audits

Session audio

Never written to disk

Deleted by default; can be saved

Deleted immediately; no backups

PHI in AI training

Never; no opt-in offered

Permitted with explicit opt-in

Never

Encryption

TLS 1.3, AES-256

Stated in transit and at rest

Industry-standard, in transit and at rest

Data residency

US-only, Azure and GCP under BAA

Not specified publicly

US processing; PHIPA/PIPEDA for Canada

Pricing model

Flat, unlimited notes

$1/session, capped at $69/mo

$0.99–$1.49/session, uncapped

Cost at 100 sessions/mo

$49/mo · $588/yr

$69/mo · $828/yr

$99–$149/mo · $1,188–$1,788/yr

Free tier

7-day full trial

Permanent free plan

Free EHR; 5 sessions or 30-day trial

CPT/ICD coding

Included at $49

Included

Included in AI tiers

Telehealth

Works with any platform

Built in, HIPAA-compliant

Built in on all-in-one

Insurance billing

No

Yes, with per-claim fees

Yes, with per-claim fees

EHR

Works with any EHR

Works alongside; not a full EHR

Full EHR, free

Specialty scope

Mental health first, plus 4 others

Behavioral health only

Behavioral health only

Which should you choose?

For most therapists documenting a steady caseload, Twofold is the better option and the best AI note taker for therapy sessions in 2026. The compliance floor is equal across all three — every one signs a BAA on every account and none retains audio in normal use — so the decision rests on cost structure and data‑handling defaults, and Twofold leads on both. It is the cheapest of the three at any caseload above about 50 sessions a month, the only one that never writes session audio to disk, and the only one that offers no path at all for PHI to reach model training. It also layers onto the EHR you already run, so adopting it does not mean migrating your practice.

Choose Upheal if you are part‑time, want a permanently free plan, or need the most generous trial before committing. Choose Blueprint if you want to consolidate onto a free EHR, need an issued SOC 2 Type II report today, or practise in Canada and need PHIPA support. Those are real reasons and they will be the right call for a meaningful minority of clinicians.

The verdict for 2026

Twofold is the best AI note taker for therapy sessions for most therapists. It costs $588 a year against Upheal's $828 and Blueprint's $1,188 at a full caseload, holds the strictest data posture of the three on both audio and model training, includes CPT/ICD coding in its base plan, and works with whatever EHR you already have. The one place it is genuinely behind is SOC 2, where its Type II certification is still in progress while Blueprint's is issued — if that is a hard procurement requirement, it decides the question for you.

All three are compliant, and none of them is a risky choice. Pick on caseload, on whether you want to replace your EHR, and on whether you need compliance guarantees to be structural or are comfortable managing them as settings. For a full‑time psychotherapy practice that wants a predictable invoice and the fewest moving parts, that reasoning points to Twofold.

Sources and verification dates

FAQ

Frequently asked questions

  • What is the best AI note taker for therapy sessions in 2026?

    For most therapists, Twofold Health is the best overall choice. It costs a flat $49 a month for unlimited notes with CPT/ICD coding included, never writes session audio to disk, excludes PHI from model training entirely, signs a BAA on every plan, and works alongside any EHR. Upheal is the better pick for part‑time caseloads and anyone who needs a permanently free plan; Blueprint is the better pick if you want to replace your EHR outright or need an issued SOC 2 Type II report today.

  • Do Twofold, Upheal and Blueprint all sign a BAA?

    Yes, all three sign a Business Associate Agreement covering every account, and none gates it behind an enterprise tier. Twofold includes a signed BAA on every plan; Upheal enters into one with each therapist at signup, including free accounts; Blueprint includes it in its Terms of Service and offers a countersignable copy. On BAA coverage the three are at parity, so it should not be the deciding factor.

  • Which AI note taker is SOC 2 certified?

    Blueprint states it is SOC 2 Type II certified with annual independent audits. Upheal states it holds SOC 2 certification and maintains a public trust center, though its compliance page does not specify Type I or Type II. Twofold is still undergoing SOC 2 Type II certification, with controls aligned to the HITRUST CSF in the meantime — so on this specific criterion Twofold is behind the other two.

  • Which AI note taker is cheapest for therapists?

    It depends on caseload. Below roughly 49 sessions a month, Upheal and Blueprint are cheaper because both bill per session. Above that, Twofold's flat $49 a month wins and the gap widens: at 100 sessions a month Twofold costs $588 a year against Upheal's $828 and Blueprint's $1,188, or $1,788 on Blueprint's all‑in‑one EHR tier.

  • Do any of these tools train AI on therapy sessions?

    Twofold and Blueprint both state that client data is never used to train AI models. Upheal permits it only with explicit opt‑in consent that you can revoke. Blueprint's BAA does reserve de‑identified data for internal analytics and product development. If your policy is that nothing derived from a session may train a model, Twofold is the strictest of the three because it offers no opt‑in at all.

  • Which AI note taker keeps session recordings?

    None of the three retains recordings in normal operation, but the defaults differ. Twofold never writes session audio to disk at all. Blueprint deletes audio immediately after processing with no recordings, copies or backups retained. Upheal deletes recordings by default but allows you to save them, which makes retention a per‑clinician setting a practice has to govern.