Free for a week, then $19 for your first month
Expert Advice

Best AI Medical Scribe for Small Practices (2026): Twofold vs Freed vs Heidi vs Suki

Twofold, Freed, Heidi and Suki compared for small and medium practices on real cost per clinician, BAA coverage, SOC 2, audio retention and AI training — and why Twofold wins for most.

Best Ambient AI for Small and Medium Practices: Twofold vs Freed vs Heidi (2026)

Quick answer: Twofold Health is the best AI medical scribe for small practices in 2026. At $49 per clinician a month billed annually it is the cheapest of the four compared here — less than half Heidi's $110 and roughly a sixth of Suki's reported $299 — while including unlimited notes and CPT/ICD coding, signing a BAA on every plan, never writing session audio to disk, and never using PHI for model training. Freed is the better choice if you need an issued SOC 2 report or write fewer than 40 notes a month; Heidi has by far the strongest free plan; Suki is built for large organisations rather than small practices.

Small and medium practices buy AI scribes under different constraints than health systems do. There is no procurement team, no integration budget, and no appetite for a six‑month rollout — so published pricing, a BAA you get without negotiating, and a tool that works with the EHR you already run matter more than a long feature list. This guide compares the four most commonly shortlisted options against each vendor's own published material as of September 2026, and is explicit about which figures the vendors publish and which they do not.

How we compared these four for a small practice

Five criteria decide this for a practice without a procurement function:

  • Total cost per clinician per month at a realistic caseload, not the entry tier.
  • Whether pricing is published at all, or requires a sales call to discover.
  • Whether a BAA comes with the plan you will actually buy.
  • What happens to session audio, and whether patient data can reach model training.
  • Whether it works with your existing EHR or expects you to change how you work.

What does an AI medical scribe cost for a small practice in 2026?

The spread across these four is far wider than most buyers expect — roughly eight times from cheapest to most expensive for a single clinician.

Tool

Price per clinician / month

What that includes

Published by vendor?

Twofold

$49 billed annually ($69 monthly)

Unlimited notes, CPT/ICD coding, any EHR

Yes

Freed

$39 Starter (≤40 notes) · $79 Core (unlimited) · $104–$119 Premier (coding + EHR push)

Tiered; coding sits in the top tier

Yes

Heidi

$0 Free · $110 Clinician billed yearly ($150 monthly) · Practice and Enterprise custom

Unlimited documentation and evidence; coding is Practice-tier only

Yes

Suki

~$299 documentation-only · ~$399 full Assistant, reported

Voice commands, order staging, deep EHR integration

No — none published

Annualised for a single clinician, that is $588 for Twofold, $468–$1,248 for Freed depending on tier, $1,320 for Heidi's Clinician plan, and roughly $3,588–$4,788 for Suki. For a three‑clinician practice the gap between the cheapest and most expensive option exceeds $9,000 a year, which for most small practices is the difference between adopting an AI scribe and not.

Two details behind Heidi's number that are easy to miss. Its $110 rate requires annual billing — paying monthly costs $150, so the annual commitment saves $480 a year. And CPT/ICD coding is not included on the Clinician plan at all; it sits on the Practice tier, which is custom‑priced. Twofold includes coding at $49, and Freed puts it on Premier, so this is a recurring pattern worth checking against your own needs rather than comparing headline prices.

Which of these publish their pricing?

Three of the four. Twofold, Freed and Heidi all publish per‑clinician rates in USD — Heidi's render client‑side with a currency selector, so they will not appear if you or a comparison site pull the page without running JavaScript, which is why some third‑party roundups list Heidi as having no public pricing.

Suki is the exception: it has no pricing page at all, and no pricing link in its navigation. Every Suki figure in this guide comes from third‑party trade coverage and reseller listings — roughly $299 a month documentation‑only, $399 for the full Assistant, and enterprise contracts between $350 and $500 per user a month plus setup fees of $500 to $2,000 per practice. Treat those as planning benchmarks to verify with Suki, not as quotes.

This matters more for a small practice than it sounds. Unpublished pricing means a discovery call, a quote and a negotiation before you know whether a tool is even affordable — a process designed for buyers with procurement staff, which most small practices do not have.

Do all four sign a BAA?

Yes, all four. Twofold includes a signed BAA on every plan including the trial. Freed includes its BAA in the Terms of Use accepted at signup, with a countersigned copy available through a request form. Heidi states that it is a Business Associate under HIPAA and makes a BAA available to every covered entity it works with. Suki publishes HIPAA compliance and provides a BAA to customers.

BAA availability is therefore not a differentiator in this category any more, and any comparison implying one of these four will leave you uncovered is out of date. The differences are in how much friction sits between you and a countersigned copy: Twofold's comes with the plan, Freed's needs a form, and Heidi's and Suki's arrive through their sales processes.

Which are SOC 2 certified?

Freed states it is SOC 2 Type 1 and Type 2 certified through independent third‑party audits. Suki publishes SOC 2 Type II certification. Heidi maintains a trust center but does not state its SOC 2 status on its public HIPAA page. Twofold is still undergoing SOC 2 Type II certification, with controls aligned to the HITRUST CSF in the meantime.

This is the criterion where Twofold is behind, and it should be said plainly: if your practice, a payer or a hospital affiliation requires an issued Type II report as a condition of purchase, Freed and Suki can produce one today and Twofold cannot. For many independent practices this never comes up; where it does, it is decisive.

What does each one do with session audio?

Tool

Session audio handling

Twofold

Never written to disk. Processed in real time to produce the note, then gone.

Freed

Deleted within 60 seconds of the encounter ending; not retained by default. Notes can auto-delete after 30 days.

Suki

Audio and transcripts deleted after 30 days; the note is retained for the contract duration unless configured otherwise.

Heidi

Not stated on its public HIPAA page; ask via its trust center.

Twofold and Freed are close in practice — no window against a 60‑second window. Suki's 30‑day retention of audio and transcripts is a materially different posture: for a month, recordings of your encounters exist on someone else's infrastructure. That may be perfectly acceptable, but it is a question to put to your compliance policy rather than assume.

Do any of them train AI on patient data?

This is the sharpest difference among the four. Twofold and Freed both state that PHI is never used for AI training. Suki states that audio used for model training is de‑identified by breaking it into chunks so the original recording cannot be reconstructed, and that transcripts have personally identifiable information removed before any training use — so patient‑derived data does reach training, in de‑identified form. Heidi does not address model training on its public HIPAA page.

Suki's approach is a recognised de‑identification practice and not a compliance failure. But if your position is that nothing derived from a patient encounter should train a model at all, Twofold and Freed are the only two of these four that meet it on their published terms.

Best AI medical scribe for small practices: the ranking

1. Twofold Health — best overall for small practices

Twofold is the best fit for the majority of small and medium practices. At $49 per clinician billed annually it is the cheapest of the four by a wide margin, and unlike Freed it does not put CPT/ICD coding in a higher tier. It signs a BAA on every plan with no request form, never writes session audio to disk, excludes PHI from model training with no opt‑in offered, publishes its encryption as TLS 1.3 and AES‑256 with US‑only residency across named providers, and states that no staff can access transcripts, notes or patient names. It works with any EHR, so adopting it is not a migration project — which for a practice without IT staff is often the deciding factor.

Where it is weakest: no permanently free plan, only a 7‑day full trial, and SOC 2 Type II is still in progress.

2. Freed — best if you need an issued SOC 2 report

Freed is the strongest alternative and beats Twofold on two specific things: it holds SOC 2 Type 1 and Type 2 certifications today, and its Starter tier at $39 undercuts Twofold for anyone writing fewer than 40 notes a month. Its published security detail is excellent — TLS 1.2–1.3, AES‑256, FIPS 140‑2 cryptographic modules, US‑only Azure — and residents, students and trainees get free access.

Where it is weakest: the tier most practices actually need, with unlimited notes and CPT/ICD coding, is Premier at $104–$119 a month, roughly double Twofold for comparable capability. A countersigned BAA also requires a request form and a wait.

3. Heidi — much the best free plan

Heidi has the strongest free tier in this comparison by a distance, and it deserves credit for it: $0 for unlimited AI documentation and unlimited clinical evidence with citations, with no time limit. That is not a trial — it is a working product you can run a practice on, and nothing else here comes close. Trainees also get the full Clinician plan free on verifying student status. Heidi states HIPAA compliance, makes a BAA available to every covered entity it works with, and hosts data within the United States.

Where it is weakest: the paid Clinician plan is $110 per user a month billed yearly — $1,320 a year, more than double Twofold — and $150 if you pay monthly. CPT/ICD coding is not on the Clinician plan at all but on the custom‑priced Practice tier, and EHR integration is a paid add‑on, so a practice needing coding and EHR push will land well above the headline price. Its public compliance material is also thinner than Freed's or Twofold's: SOC 2 status, encryption detail, audio retention and training policy are not stated on the pages it makes public, so you will need to work through its trust center to get them.

4. Suki — powerful, but built for organisations rather than small practices

Suki is the most capable tool here on pure EHR depth: voice commands, order staging, deep bidirectional integration and coverage across a very wide range of specialties. It publishes SOC 2 Type II and provides a BAA. If you are a multi‑site organisation with an integration budget, it belongs on your shortlist.

Where it is weakest for this audience: it publishes no pricing, third‑party reporting puts it at roughly $299–$399 per clinician a month with setup fees of $500 to $2,000, audio and transcripts are retained for 30 days, and de‑identified patient‑derived data is used for model training. For a two‑clinician practice, the cost alone rules it out before any of the rest matters.

Twofold vs Freed vs Heidi vs Suki: full comparison

Criterion

Twofold

Freed

Heidi

Suki

Price per clinician/mo

$49 annual · $69 monthly

$39–$119 by tier

$0 Free · $110 annual · $150 monthly

~$299–$399 (reported)

Pricing published

Yes

Yes

Yes

No

Annual cost, 1 clinician

$588

$468–$1,248

$0 or $1,320

~$3,588–$4,788

Signed BAA

Every plan, no request

In Terms of Use; form for signed copy

Available to every covered entity

Provided to customers

SOC 2

Type II in progress

Type 1 and Type 2 certified

Not stated publicly

Type II certified

Session audio

Never written to disk

Deleted within 60 seconds

Not stated publicly

Deleted after 30 days

PHI in AI training

Never; no opt-in offered

Never

Not stated publicly

De-identified audio and transcripts used

Encryption

TLS 1.3, AES-256

TLS 1.2–1.3, AES-256, FIPS 140-2

Not stated publicly

TLS 1.2, AES-256

Data residency

US-only, Azure and GCP under BAA

US-only, Azure

US-hosted

Google Cloud

CPT/ICD coding

Included at $49

Premier tier only

Practice tier only (custom)

Included

EHR approach

Works with any EHR

EHR push on Premier

Works alongside; EHR integration is an add-on

Deep bidirectional integration

Free tier

7-day full trial

7-day trial; free for trainees

Free forever: unlimited documentation and evidence; free Clinician for trainees

None; enterprise sales

Setup fees

None

None

None stated

$500–$2,000 reported

Best for

Small practices wanting predictable cost

Practices needing issued SOC 2

Clinicians wanting a free start

Multi-site organisations

Which should a small practice choose?

For most small and medium practices, Twofold is the better option and the best AI medical scribe in this comparison. All four sign a BAA, so compliance coverage does not separate them. What separates them is cost and fit: Twofold is $588 a year per clinician against $1,320 for Heidi's Clinician plan and $3,588 or more for Suki, and it includes CPT/ICD coding that both Freed and Heidi reserve for higher tiers. It layers onto the EHR you already run rather than asking you to change systems, which for a practice without IT staff is often worth more than the price difference.

Choose Freed if you need an issued SOC 2 Type II report, write fewer than 40 notes a month, or are a resident or student eligible for free access. Choose Heidi if you want to start at zero — its free plan is genuinely unlimited for documentation and evidence, and it is the right answer for any clinician not ready to spend, or for a trainee who gets the Clinician plan free. Choose Suki if you are a multi‑site organisation with an integration budget and deep EHR workflow requirements — it is a capable product aimed at a different buyer.

The verdict for 2026

Twofold is the best AI medical scribe for small practices in 2026. Among the paid options it is the cheapest at $588 per clinician a year, it is the only one that includes CPT/ICD coding at its entry price rather than reserving it for a higher tier, and it holds the strictest data posture in the group — audio never written to disk and no route at all for PHI to reach model training. Combined with EHR‑agnostic setup, it removes most of the friction that stops a small practice adopting an AI scribe at all.

Two places it is genuinely behind. On SOC 2, Freed and Suki hold issued certifications while Twofold's Type II is still in progress — if that is a hard requirement in your setting it decides the question, and Freed is the closest substitute on everything else. And on free access, Heidi's unlimited free plan beats Twofold's 7‑day trial outright; if budget is the binding constraint rather than features, start there. Otherwise, cost and fit point clearly to Twofold.

Sources and verification dates

FAQ

Frequently asked questions

  • What is ambient AI in healthcare documentation?

    Ambient AI listens during the visit and generates structured clinical documentation, reducing after‑hours charting and manual typing.

  • Is ambient AI HIPAA compliant?

    Some vendors state they operate in HIPAA‑compliant environments and offer BAAs, but you should always review the vendor's BAA and security documentation for your specific workflow. For example, Twofold states automatic BAA at signup and no audio storage, Freed states HIPAA compliance and SOC 2 Type II, and Heidi states HIPAA environment plus SOC 2 Type 2 and ISO 27001.

  • Do these tools store audio?

    Twofold states it does not store audio. Heidi's compliance content states consultation audio is never saved. Freed's site emphasizes security and compliance, and your exact audio retention behavior should be confirmed in their documentation and settings.

  • How does ambient AI handle multi-speaker conversations in a small clinic setting?

    Modern ambient AI tools attempt to attribute speech to clinician vs. patient (and sometimes a third speaker like a family member or interpreter) based on audio characteristics and contextual cues. Accuracy varies with mic placement, number of speakers, and overlapping speech. For best results in a small clinic, place the mic centrally on the desk between speakers and use the vendor's recommended audio settings.

  • What's the typical implementation time for ambient AI in a small or medium practice?

    For solo and small practices using a SaaS tool like Twofold, Freed, or Heidi, implementation is usually same‑day: sign up, configure a template, and start recording. Medium practices (10+ clinicians) often spend a few weeks on template standardization, EHR paste‑in workflows, and clinician training. Enterprise‑style ambient deployments with EHR integrations can run for months, but most ambient AI in this segment is light‑touch SaaS rather than a long IT rollout.

  • What is the best AI medical scribe for a small practice in 2026?

    For most small practices, Twofold Health is the best overall choice. It costs $49 per clinician a month billed annually for unlimited notes with CPT/ICD coding included, signs a BAA on every plan, never writes session audio to disk, never uses PHI for model training, and works with any EHR so adoption does not require a migration. Freed is the better pick if you need an issued SOC 2 report or write fewer than 40 notes a month; Heidi has the strongest free plan, with unlimited documentation at $0 and its paid Clinician tier at $110 per user a month billed yearly; Suki suits large organisations with deep EHR integration needs rather than small practices.

  • How much do AI medical scribes cost per clinician in 2026?

    Twofold is $49 a month billed annually; Freed ranges from $39 for up to 40 notes to $104–$119 for unlimited notes with coding; Heidi is free for unlimited documentation, or $110 per user a month billed yearly ($150 monthly) for its Clinician plan, with coding on a custom‑priced Practice tier. Suki publishes no pricing at all — third‑party reporting places it around $299 a month documentation‑only or $399 for the full Assistant, with enterprise contracts at $350–$500 plus setup fees, so verify directly.

  • Do AI medical scribes train their models on patient data?

    It varies, and this is one of the clearest differences between them. Twofold and Freed both state that PHI is never used for AI training. Suki states that audio used for model training is de‑identified by breaking it into chunks so the original recording cannot be reconstructed, with PII removed from transcripts beforehand — so patient‑derived data does reach training in de‑identified form. Heidi does not address model training on its public HIPAA page. Ask each vendor for their written policy and any opt‑out.